Weekly Overview: Orbitons, Spiders, and Comment Review

So this is what I hope to be a weekly overview of what I’ve done and what I’ve learned. I expect this to be somewhat interesting for all MFZers, and moreso for those of us who are mixel abusers. I’d like to start off by thanking everyone for the warm welcome to the community, and notably Mantisking (http://the-mobile-frame-garage.blogspot.ca/) who spiked traffic to this blog (40+ viewers over 2 days!) by linking to it.

First thing, I’d like to present my 41529 Nurp-Naut SSC build, since I haven’t made a dedicated blog post for it. I honestly don’t think it’d be worth it, it’s lacking serious creativity. Personally, I don’t think Nurp-Naut is a very good Mixel to purchase for MFZ due to the odd pieces it contains and the fact that it’s over the golden ratio (52 pieces for $5.98). If you really like the transparent domes, though, I guess you could probably get a couple of good stations out of him.

I managed to get a station out of this build as well, a simple comm station.

Overall, pretty limited stuff to work with. My imagination was borked after working on the previous two during the same day, so it may just be that, but I can say that I’m not a huge fan of Nurp-Naut.

To start, I’d like to show a couple of Orbiton builds from other frame engineers:

Mixel Orbitrons SSC

By Lorc (Hangar post)

MFZ-41527,41528,41529 (alternate model)

By darksyntax (Hangar post)

And compare them to my own (Blogpost links: 41527 Rokit, 41528 Niksput):

As you can see, there are quite a few differences. In my frames, I try not to use the mixel style block feet but maybe I should just stick to that. The ones I stick together don’t really look any better. I really like the tilted forward style of Lorc’s Rokit frame, and I love his broad-shouldered bipedal Niksput (quite different from my own). darksyntax managed to turn Rokit into a near-Chub, which is fairly impressive for a mixel. His high-leg Niksput uses the wing plates in a clever manner, I hadn’t even contemplated using them in this way. darksyntax’s Nurp-Naut is absolutely brilliant. I never thought to attempt using SNOT for it, and I hadn’t considered a frame in the shape of a sprite from Reboot. It works very well here, and I am very impressed at the design choices by these two architects.

Something I learned this week through 30263 Spider Crawler and darksyntax’s Nurp-Naut, technique wise, is that part 4871 is particularly useful as a SNOT piece. Something else I noticed about the Spider Crawler is that those little spider legs make decent legs for a frame. I can see an Ijad-style frame ending on points like that. The biggest issue I would think is that the frame that has those kinds of legs would by necessity be lighter than most due to the pressure that would be applied to such pointed feet. And pretty much only in 4p, since they’re really small to begin with.

Something that I’ve noticed about my first post, the Spider Crawler one, is that I was very short and quick with it. I didn’t really offer any explanation. As the week went on I tried different things and I think I like my writing for my Niksput post the most. I really like fluff, and the lore behind MFZ has a lot to work with. Most of the Terran Colony frames are just scrapjobs given new life, and the Solar Union can afford to make military-grade frames. Mercenaries exist as well which give a huge variety of potential factions to work with. And when in doubt, there’s always the alien Ijad. The Ijad race is really interesting. The average Ijad will pilot scrambler frames while being hosted by Ghanateh, but they can inhabit a whole gamut of hosts. We’ll take a look at some Ijad frames next week. I’ve already started on the Glowkies mixels and I think they’re turning out pretty good if I do say so myself.

So aside from all that, I really want comments. I’ve received a few “welcome to the club” comments, but I’d love to see what people think of the frames I’ve created and of the fluff that I’ve conjured. I will perhaps, start posting to the Hangar since there seems to be a lot more discussion there, but I find it very intimidating to join forums and forum discussions due to the fact that I can’t help but feel like an outsider. I’ll link this blog in both the facebook group and the G+ group as well, but I don’t think it’ll be much more than once per week for my overview posts. If there’s something in particular that you would like me to try, I’m usually up for it, whether that be writing or building.

So, thanks for reading, and have a great week! I’ll be updating 2-3 times a week, hopefully Mon-Wed-Fri, with an overview post like this one scheduled for Saturday. The posts are set to auto-publish at 0400 UTC (0000 EST), so you can check them out then if you’d like.

-DJ

2 comments

  1. eatrepeat

    Well you asked for comments on your frames and such so here we go. The Mixels are my least intriguing review/SSC because I know what to expect. Actually most anything else is more likely for me to check out.
    I really like the idea of lore being a blog focus, highlighting writers deviations and creations. That would be super fun :)
    Have fun and don’t let old cranky eatrepeat get you down. My forum posts get a comment or two if I’m lucky but that doesn’t mean much. You’ll find that silent acceptance is the MFZ equivalent of a seated applause :)
    Maybe build a light box if you want to raise the standard of your photos. But that’s opinions, you asked so I hope it helps.

    Like

    • DJ

      Thank you very much for your comment! I plan on adding in a few other sets, notably things I find on special. Something coming up this week is going to be an SSC for 31031 Rainforest Animals because I love the colour scheme. I will definitely put more focus on the lore, it’s something I really enjoy, but I’m afraid of touching on the Ijad aspect since it’s so… alien. I loved the advent of the Twanks and how competitors popped up overnight with snarky commentary, so I hope to inject some of that kind of humour into what I do. As for the light box, I went out to pick up everything I need for it yesterday and forgot the bristol board. Makes me sad, I know have a box with light diffusers and no background as of yet. Soon!

      Thank you very much! Your criticism is very much welcome and appreciated. I will take your comments to heart and see what I can do regarding reducing mixel usage and trying out other types of sets.

      -DJ

      Like

Leave a Reply

